Perfumes

Olfactory art curator Chandler Burr shares science and romance of scents

Chandler Burr, photo courtesy Chris Salata/Daily News Photo

In 2010, the Museum of Art and Design in New York City appointed the former New York Times scent critic, Chandler Burr, to be the head of their newly created Department of Olfactory Art.  Burr will be organizing an exhibition called “The Art of Scent: 1889-2011” at the museum at some undetermined point in the future.  I absolutely cannot wait!

From the Palm Beach Daily News:
Olfactory art curator Chandler Burr shares science and romance of scents.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Olfactory art curator Chandler Burr shares science and romance of scents

  1. I believe the Art of Scent was originally supposed to open in November 2011, but as you know that didn’t materialize and I don’t believe there is a new date announced. If you look at the museum’s website it doesn’t list it as a future exhibit. But I’m with you…when it does exhibit, I’ll be on the first train to NYC!

  2. Yes, I did know that it was supposed to happen last fall because there was a press release that said there would be a catalog to accompany the exhibition that I would love to have. The Museum of Art and Design is struggling a little bit, so perhaps it’s a question of funding. I will admit that I’ve lived in New York all of my life and have never visited. In any case, it looks like the exhibition will happen eventually.

Leave a Reply

